Ignored me for years; I found someone else; now she wants me back

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Ignored me for years; I found someone else; now she wants me back

This will seem like fiction. Although I am a writer and I've tried to make it read well, it is all true; I'm in pain and need genuine advice.

We've been together 12 years. She's 46; I'm 58. She's conventional but open-minded. I'll call her Vieux. I'm a manic depressive artist and writer and a moderate risk taker. Vieux finds me fascinating; I enjoy her stability and common sense.

We were mad love. A year later, I fell into deep depression. A year or two after that I started with psychiatrists; eventually one got me on the right meds. I've been balanced for about five years. I'm more clear-headed, happier, and more consistent than I have ever been. During my depression however, I hadn't been available to Vieux. She really worked at it but I couldn't respond. Her love waned but she kept going on loyalty. Her feelings did not return.

Sex was down to a couple times a month, then it all but ended. The last two years before the incident this post is about, we had sex three times. We tried counseling but Vieux put in no effort. We still got along well, but our relationship had no heart. This past October, I quit waiting and went online looking for sex.

I'm attractive, somewhat charismatic, and empathetic. I present as 10-20 years younger than I am; upon hearing my age people are visibly startled. Nevertheless, I had not cheated, though I had been online for a year or so looking at women and thinking about it.