Clingy Girlfriend

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Clingy Girlfriend

I've been with my girlfriend for 1.5 years now. In the beginning, I didn't want her in my life but she kept trying until I gave it a shot. I saw many qualities in her that I value and can't find in many women. I wasn't in love, but I decided to stay with her, knowing that in the long run it would pay off. It's been a roller coaster ever since. Her chasing me, me pushing her away. We've had over 40 discussions on me not being ready for a relationship, not being deeply in love with her, etc. We've always found a solution and have grown stronger. I can say today that I am now attached (not necessarily in love). However, she is also my best friend and I want what's best for her.

I have great dreams that I've been working on for the past 5 years. I've been extremely busy working on myself and pushing my personal limits to achieve my goals. This is part of the reason why I wasn't ready to be in a relationship in the first place; I put a lot of energy in my career, which means that I put less energy in my relationships. To me a relationship is worthless if I can't develop feelings strong enough due to my head being somewhere else.

But, she's accepted the fact that we only see each other 2 days a week and has given me plenty of time and space to concentrate on my work. She is a very understandable woman, which is one of the qualities she possesses. But I still have that fear that it's not the right time for me to be in a relationship, that I have to put 7 days a week into my dream instead of 5. She does encourage me to keep working hard, and admires my work, but I still feel dragged down somehow.