Living with an alcoholic

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Living with an alcoholic

Me and my boyfriend have been living together for about 2 years. He is a great person but his alcoholism makes it very hard.
    He has several active charges in court and a criminal record too. He has no drivers license. Because of this he has trouble finding work. When he finds work he loses it pretty fast because he really can't deal with people and starts fights with them.
    We are renting the place from my parents. The thing is that I can't afford to pay for both of us at the moment. When I finally get a job in what I studied it will be easier but at this point I can just pay for my half. He keeps on missing months of payment due to long time not working and because he has all his fines and debt to pay as well.
    I want us to move to a different place which will be cheaper so we can afford it because it is embarrassing for me to live like that. But he is refusing. He wants no basement place, he doesn't want a smaller one, he doesn't want to be a bit further from the subway etc. I have no idea how to convince him. It is pretty bad because not only isn't he paying his part of the rent, when I try to have a conversation about how improve the situation he takes it personally, accuses me of not paying anything (which is incorrect), then when he gets drunk he calls my parents and accuses them of overcharging him (yet at the same time doesn't want to move because he wants to live in our neighborhood and all the apartments have higher prices ) so they hate him. I am already trying to avoid my parents because I can't hear anymore everything that they say about him. Us moving would improve my relationship with them as well.