Working Through My Anxiety, but it's coming back

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Working Through My Anxiety, but it's coming back

I've been doing a good job the past few months of working on my anxiety, especially (but not exclusively) in how it relates to my dating life with women. I've been doing therapy for almost 2 years now, individual therapy, group support therapy, classes, etc. I've learned a lot about how to recognize an anxiety attack, ways to cope with it, how to fight through it. It's a process, and one that I'm still working on, but I can definitely see progress.

Especially after a particular situation with a co-worker who I made the mistake of attempting to get involved with. Long story short, it was a 9 month ordeal (we work at a school and it lasted the entire school year) where essentially we started talking and hanging out, clicked and connected, but then she led me on, I moved on to start seeing other people once I realized it wasn't going anywhere with her, but while I was seeing other people, she decided to get herself involved in my personal business, start spreading rumors about me at work that I was "obsessed" with her and "stalking" her, then at the end of it, had the nerve to report me to my boss for the drama that was created by HER gossiping about me at work (spoiler alert: she made the mistake of telling me she was going to report me before she did, so I was able to report her to my boss before she reported me, and my boss and management team believed my side of the story and sided with me. There were no negative consequences in terms of my standing at work, outside of a couple individual co-workers who believed her story and don't talk to me anymore, but my job security was not damaged). Considering the situation, I came out on the back end of it feeling better than I've felt in a long time, and possibly in terms of self confidence and feelings of self worth, may have been feeling an all time high.