Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

My dad is very overprotective of me. How can I get him to back off a bit?

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• My dad is very overprotective of me. How can I get him to back off a bit?

It's been a while since I've made my first post. As you guys know from my first post, my father and I aren't close due to character and personality differences. However, there is something else about him that bothers me. He's extremely overprotective of me! To the point where it's annoying. Let me explain.

I'm a 20-year-old man. I'm a college student. I know he does it because he loves me (Even though I feel like he doesn't show it often), but I find it irritating. It makes me think that he thinks that I'm not capable of doing things on my own or handling my own affairs. I'll list a few examples of things he does.

He doesn't like to leave me home alone. He always wants to watch my every move. When I'm at a store or restaurant, and I want to ask an employee a question he does it for me without giving me the chance to do it myself. He's reluctant to let me do things on my own and make my own decisions. He thinks I'm not capable of doing many things. The thing is is that he doesn't even know if I can do these things because he never gives me the chance to do them! He just assumes that I can't do it.

I just feel like he has no faith in me. I feel like he has no reason to feel like that. I've always been a well-mannered responsible person. And I'm an adult, not a child. He's treating me like a child. How can I prove to my dad that I'm perfectly capable of handling my own affairs?