Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Gift giving. I don't want any and I'm bad at giving to others.

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Gift giving. I don't want any and I'm bad at giving to others.

So my wife and I have been married for a few years now. Everything is going great except I now I dread gift giving holidays. Whenever it's time to buy a gift for our families my wife gets really stressed out then takes it out on me because I'm not good at getting other people gifts which makes me not very helpful to her during that time. Growing up my family didn't really do gifts, mostly I just got a little bit of money on my birthday and Christmas and that was it. My wife's family is the opposite, they go over the top with gift giving and frankly I'm just not that into it. I appreciate the gesture but at the same time I just don't want extra unnecessary things, I don't like waste and things I don't need. I just don't know what to do bc my wife expects a gift for pretty much every major holiday (Christmas, birthday, valentines, Mother's Day, anniversary ect) it's just frustrating for me bc even if I try to get her some nice gifts they just end up setting in the closet unused, wasting space. I don't want any gifts bc of that reason.

Re: Gift giving. I don't want any and I'm bad at giving to others.

Do a little research on the Five Love Languages. Gifts are one of them. In essence, for people who speak the language of "gifts" it really is the thought that counts. Getting a gift means you cared enough about the person to spend some time thinking and finding something to help them feel loved. Whether they use the gift or not is not the point for these people. What they hear in the giving of the gift is "I love you."