Breaking Up Advice

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Breaking Up Advice

Hello all and happy Friday! I created a post called “Stick it out or end things?” Which basically explained my situation in my current relationship and with everyone’s help and lots of sleepless nights that I spent thinking about it, I decided to break up with my boyfriend. He is an amazing guy, has never done anything but give 100% into our relationship however I don’t have any romantic feelings toward him and I think I would be happier single than in a relationship with no spark on my side. Not fair to either of us. My question is, how should I break up with him? I’ve never done this before. For sure it will be in person and I’m thinking perhaps in the front porch of his house but other than that, im not sure what to do or say or how long the conversation should be? Also, I see him a lot because we go to the same church and have friends in common, what should I do when I see him? I have no problem being nice and friendly because I see him as a friend but I know he is going to be very hurt. Thank you guys in advance, I’m so grateful to have found this forum and to have people out there care about my worries. You guys rock!

No, he's not going to be happy.

I think it's important when you break up not to try to put blame on someone, either you or him. It's no one's fault. One can't force oneself to feel romantic towards someone. You could say something like this:

"Gerald, I haven't been happy for a while now. I'm very fond of you, but I don't think we're right for each other. I don't see the point of continuing the way we are. I hope you'll understand that you haven't done anything wrong. I just don't think we're a good fit."
    "What lips my lips have kissed and where and why I have forgotten." ~Edna St. Vincent Millay

Comment