Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

INSECURITY Is killing my relationship and I need help...

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• INSECURITY Is killing my relationship and I need help...

Hello All,

This is my first time writing on this forum and I am seeking your advice. I will start with a brief overview of my relationship to put things into perspective.

Im 24 years old and have been dating my girlfriend for almost 6 months now. She is actually the best friend of one of my brother's girlfriends and so she has been to my house countless times growing up and apparently she always had a crush on me but I always had a girlfriend. Shes currently 23 and lived in California all of her life but has been in Utah for the last year or so. I am currently living in California. The distance is tough sometimes but we have been making it work and typically fly to see each other 1-2 times a month for a weekend since flights are fairly cheap.

We officially started talking when we kicked it off at a concert together and decided that we would make things work. She is a very independent woman, a good communicator, and knows what she wants.

The relationship started off wonderful as most do and we were very flirty and texted and talked on the phone for hours at a time. I have always been a "mind reader" and tend to overthink responses and the way people act in a relationship which I believe is due to a large amount of insecurity. I have gone to a therapist in the past for this. There are countless times that I have acted insecure in this relationship and it eats me alive that I acted in such a way.